Monday, June 9, 2014

Come Next Summer: Chapter Eleven-Can I Reach in And Slap These People?


No, but really. This entire chapter only happens because of the misunderstanding between Jon and Devon. And it's incredibly aggravating.

So, classes start up again and Devon is glad to have something to occupy her. Jon isn't at the apartment most of the time, including most nights, and Devon sourly assumes he's with Margo. Devon's a little annoyed with herself for asking questions, because otherwise she'd have happy memories of being together with Jon and the pain later. Instead she's got the pain now and no happy memories. Apparently she's on her way to her Modern Problems class, because suddenly Doc is yelling down the hallway after her.

He wants to know if she's gotten into grad school and she says she did. They talk about getting her a teaching assistanceship. Doc can tell there's something wrong, but Devon won't talk about it, so he doesn't push her. Devon mentions how she doesn't want to take on student loans, and how her tuition has been free for undergrad because her mom worked at the university. Doc is bewildered because that's not how it works. He calls up his buddy in the financial part of the university and finds out that Devon's dad has been paying for her, and by extension David's, college. Oh, also Devon and David get a bit of money each month. They were told it was insurance, but that was probably C.J. too. Wow. He turned out to be a great guy, once Devon found out the truth. Now if only that would apply to someone else in this book...

Anyway, when Devon runs out of Doc's office, she meets Matt in the hallway. She doesn't want to go with him to get her paper, but she figures that if someone else is there, she won't get into an argument with Jon, so they go. Jon's door is locked, so they walk to class, which gives Devon time to agree to a date with Matt. She thinks that since an attempted rape happened with both Matt and Jon that she's frigid. Even if she were, that's something she needs to think about and get comfortable with, and not go somewhere with a guy who tried to rape her. I mean really. Speaking of, they see Jon coming up the stairs and follow him to his office to get their papers. Jon also sees Matt putting his hand on Devon's arm possessively and gets mad. Don't worry, Jon, I'm mad at her for that too. In his office, Jon hands Matt his paper and asks if Devon wants to talk about hers but she just wants her paper then, saying that she'll talk about it later. Jon knows she won't. So, she and Matt walk down the hallway, flipping through, and Devon learns that she got an A.

She charges back into Jon's office to yell at him. Her first accusation is that Jon thought the grade would make her grateful enough to sleep with Jon. Wow. She's not pulling her punches. He lets her yell it all out without any responses. Unfortunately, she says nothing about what's actually bothering her, just how he put comments all over her paper. When she's done, Jon explains how he didn't agree with her conclusions, but he really liked how she looked at every angle and whatnot. He was going to offer her a job working for him, but now, not so much. I wonder if that's why Seth was grilling her, as kind of a secret interview. Devon hopes that he has a great time working with Bob Dickinson. This is the only hint she gives about what's bothering her, and it's a terrible one. Seriously, I was hoping their argument would actually be helpful to them, but it's not.

Oh, also the task force Jon's running for Bob Dickinson is about drug abuse, especially alcohol. Devon angrily tells him she wouldn't want a job helping with that because she'll be getting her master's. Then she storms out and cuts class. Their professor for Modern Problems hates it when class is interrupted and Devon knows she won't concentrate anyway. Devon has second thoughts about going to the movie with Matt, but decides she needs to, if only so she won't be brooding about Jon at home. Then someone in a super new car offers to give her a ride. Who the-

Oh, hey Julie. You're the only reasonable character in this book, besides Doc. You're going to talk some sense into Devon, right? Yeah, it's fascinating that C.J. gave you the car since David's car was basically dead. And I'm glad you think that reopening the relationship between C.J. and David is letting David heal. Julie innocently invites Devon and Jon to dinner, and when she hears they're both busy this weekend, says she'll go for the next one instead. Oh, you won't come in? Nope. Julie leaves the scene without helping to solve Devon's conflict. Harumph.

So, the movie with Matt is fine. It makes Devon weepy, with all the misunderstandings and such. She and Matt walk for a bit. They chat about graduation and whether or not Devon will still be here in the summer. She won't be. Then Matt talks about how Devon's changed. It's almost like she's grown up. Or something. They're getting closer to her apartment, which has no lights on, Matt asks if he can can come in for some coffee and maybe a goodnight kiss. He verifies that that's all he wants. He takes her rejection well. He says that he's learned and that she's safe alone with him. Yeah, I'm sure. Anyway, Devon notices Jon's car is there and she freaks out because that means he's home. Matt recognizes the apartment where Jon lives and asks if Jon is a lousy neighbor. Devon kind of agrees. Finally, Matt admits that he messed up on their last date, and that he knows she's afraid to be alone with him. Gee. I wonder why. He says he would like to try again, but doesn't push it when Devon says nothing. She grants him a goodnight kiss, which does nothing for her after kissing Jon, and he leaves.

Devon goes inside and sees that Jon hasn't eaten her “I'm sorry” cake. Maybe if it were carrot shaped and said that with icing on it... Anyway, she thinks about how, even though she's jealous of Margo, Jon can't possibly be jealous of Matt. Aha! Another ingredient for a romance novel: at least one character, probably the girl, has low self-esteem. Oh, hey Jon. Didn't see you standing there on the stairs in the dark. He makes a motion to come closer and Devon flinches, so he stays put. Jon asks if Devon is seeing Matt again. She replies, “Is there any reason I shouldn't? You've managed to convince me that what he did that night was my fault.” Oh snap! Look at that backbone she's grown. Thank you, Devon. Still not entirely happy with you, but you're getting there.

Devon, uneasy by the door, moves to lean against Jon's desk. She asks if they can go back to how they were before. Jon says they can't. Devon tries not to cry and busies herself straightening some papers on Jon's desk. He snaps at her not to touch them and, of course, they go scattering across the floor. That's the manuscript for Jon' book, but he doesn't want her to look at it anymore. They both pick up pages, but when Jon straightens up suddenly, Devon flinches away from him. It breaks Jon's heart to have her be afraid of him, but his reason flies away when she refuses him. This is where I get worried. ...so he's going to have to leave so he doesn't hurt her. And that's where I stop being worried, and feel badly for them both. Yes they're stupid, but I'm reading their story. Devon debates about whether or not she should go for the short term happiness, or just leave it at the pain. If he were dying, she knows what she would do. So, it seems like Devon decides she wants to have sex with him, but isn't sure she's confident enough to tell him this.

Wow. There's only one chapter left, so it's almost easy to guess what happens...In no particular order: Jon and Devon finally have their discussion about Jon marrying Margo where Jon learns what's gotten Devon so out of shape these past few days, they bang, and make plans for the future. I hope Devon doesn't stop getting her education just because of a guy, but long-distance relationships are hard, so maybe she will. Hm. Oh, also, the rivals of C.J's and Jon's league of assassins show up to kill Jon and Devon and he's got to teach her about her birthright in a hurry.

1 comment:

  1. So, I must have missed the ninjas. They are so hard to spot!

    ReplyDelete